Bonsai forum

What are your favorite species to work with? Your least favorite?

• e-babe
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1

What are your favorite species to work with? Your least favorite? was created by e-babe

Posted 5 years 8 months ago #43425
I am not that experienced in the art of bonsai itself, but I do like to work with woody succulents and medicinal types. tropical plants are also a favorite of mine. I've never worked with conifers, before; however, I would very much like to, as they are some of my favorite species.

generally speaking, I try to avoid plants that are toxic to animals; if I cannot resist the plant species, I keep it separate from the rooms my animals use actively. the one plant species I absolutely refuse to cultivate are oleander shrubs; I just cannot trust them.
by e-babe

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Clicio
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1549

Replied by Clicio on topic What are your favorite species to work with? Your least favorite?

Posted 5 years 8 months ago #43432

e-babe wrote: if I cannot resist the plant species, I keep it separate from the rooms my animals use actively.

Welcome to the forum.
Don't ever keep a bonsai indoors, and of course don't let them share the same space as your animals.
Back to the subject:
My favorite trees are tropicals (as I live in a tropical country), but I really like working with the pines (akamatsu and kuromatsu; goyomatsu are impossible in Brazil).
I hate boxwoods, podocarpus, mallsaiis in general and nowadays I am hating Azaleas (but only because I kill all of them, it's a divine gift I have, I guess).
No, in fact I love Azaleas during the short time they keep alive in my hands.
by Clicio

• Felidae
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 236

Replied by Felidae on topic What are your favorite species to work with? Your least favorite?

Posted 5 years 8 months ago #43438