Bonsai forum

Sifting though the "noise"

• veritas_ao
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 4

Sifting though the "noise" was created by veritas_ao

Posted 2 years 7 months ago #72231
Greetings everyone. I'm very new to bonsai and have already learned a lot. One thing I quickly learned, and this tends to be the trend in our technological age, is the varying opinions. Of course, they are all presented as fact even though there are so many varying "facts". I was gifted a bonsai which was simply labeled "Bonsai Tree". After 2 days of research I figured out it was a Fukien Tea Tree. After much research I've found some who say it's ideal for beginners, easy to care for and an ideal indoor bonsai. Then of course,there are those with the completely opposite opinion. My point in all of that is to say to all of you "newbies" to bonsai out there like me, be patient, research, research research, experiment, and sift through all of the opinions and find trusted sources you can learn from. There will be disappointments and losses but this is such a satisfying hobby. I love trees and forests. It's thrilling to me to be able to grow them in and around my home.
by veritas_ao
The following user(s) said Thank You: Dicax, Jacob Wember

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Jaron
  • Thanks received: 0

Replied by Jaron on topic Sifting though the "noise"

Posted 2 years 7 months ago #72413
I could not agree more and I have the same issue.I've had my fukien now for about a month niw and per my own new post, so much conflicting information out there. After losing some leaves I realize that waiting the week to week and a half the people had recommended was completely wrong, and I find if I were at every three days with the humidity tray full it thrives. Many more leaves and very shiny.