Bonsai forum

Promoting growth of new branches

• Mithrandir
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Promoting growth of new branches was created by Mithrandir

Posted 2 years 5 months ago #73619
Hello,

I am still pretty new to bonsai, my question is regarding my blue Jacaranda thay is about 1 year and 6 month. When the weather changed I lost all my lower branches and only have about 4-5 at the very top of the tree. I was wondering if there was a way to promote the growth of new branches lower on the trunk? I have been pruning to prevent more vertical growth since it got taller then I expected early on.

Please forgive any ignorance on my part. Thank you for your time.
by Mithrandir

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Albas
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 291

Replied by Albas on topic Promoting growth of new branches

Posted 2 years 5 months ago #73620
Hello.

Yes, there is a technique to ramify without the risk of drying, can you post a picture to make it easier?
by Albas

• Albas
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member

Posted 2 years 5 months ago #73621
To get a ramification on species that are hard to do so (Flamboyant, Sibipiruna, Jacarandá), you can make a ring above where you want it to bud, almost like an air-layering, but 1~2mm generally is enough, that will make the plant react like the tree or branch was hard pruned, but it wasn't, so upper folliage will keep that branch or that part of the trunk alive while it buds back on the bottom, once it ramified on the bottom you can hard prune where you made the ring...

Worst case scenario it will heal the ring, so you can try again other time...

That is used a lot on Flamboyants, since when you hard prune a branch, there is a big possibillity it will dry due to sap retraction...
by Albas

• Mithrandir
  • Offline Topic Author

Replied by Mithrandir on topic Promoting growth of new branches

Posted 2 years 5 months ago #73622