Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

How much does a Bonsai tree weigh? 2 years 5 months ago #73718

• Biomass
  • Biomass's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Dear Bonsai lovers,

I am a scientist and study ecophysiology, the topic of how plants adjust themselves to different environments. Currently, I am writing a scientific paper, and I would like to give an example of how widely different a plant of a given age can be in size, depending on environmental conditions. One of the most striking examples I an think of is of course the difference between a bonsai tree and a 'normally-growing' tree of the same species and age. But how much is that difference in numbers? 10x?, 100x?, 1000x?, 10,000x?

So I have 2 questions for you:

Question 1: In the scientific literature, I was not able to find any data for this difference. Do you maybe know from the bonsai literature whether somebody has tried to quantify how different they are?

Question 2: For adult trees of many species, there are data where people have chopped up trees in leaves, branches, stem (and sometimes roots), dried them in an oven until all water was gone, and then measured the dry weight. I can understand that there are not many of you that happily do the same with your beloved bonsai trees. But there is an alternative: rather than the dry mass of the whole plant, we can also take the volume of the trunk, that comes pretty close. So I wonder whether we can compare that to the volume of 'normally-growing' trees. My question to you therefore is: Do you have a bonsai tree of more than 50 years old, for which you could measure the following 2 things:
- Total length of the trunk (so the length of the main stem from base to the top branch, rather than the height), length of branches is not necessary.
- The diameter (or circumference) of that main stem at 5 places between base and top?