Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Saving an old Ficus bonsai tree 1 year 9 months ago #77030

• Blues_age
  • Blues_age's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
I need some advice on a Ficus Bonsai tree, what it looks like it might need, as I am a novice at this art form. I'm in Hawaii. I keep it in a south facing window and use a grow light too, since it doesn't get much direct sunlight. It has taken all this time and regular feeding with little new leaf growth. I have not trimmed the branches, because it had been so stressed for so long. Over the past year I have been trying to bring it back to health with some success. Recently started to put out lots of new leaves, but they are much lighter green, so it may need nutrients. but I'm encouraged. I think it might need to have a 3rd branch, but someone had cut off that and left just a stub long ago. I don't know it it's possible to get a 3rd large branch started or if it will work out aesthetically without one. I will welcome any and all advice here.
Thanks,
History: About a year ago I was given an old Bonsai tree., I'm told it is more than 65 years old. It had been kept in a room that had little light and no sun. and it was almost dead with few leaves and only 2 branches. The pot that it was in was crumbling, so bought a new one and repotted the tree after 5 months into a pot that was a little bigger, so I could give it more opportunity to heal( I thought).

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Saving an old Ficus bonsai tree 1 year 9 months ago #77031

• Tropfrog
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1357
I don't think that ficus ginseng has been produced for 65 years. Here they first showed up in stores less than 10 years ago.