Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Hi :) 10 years 8 months ago #9424

• Marvel170
  • Marvel170's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hi guys,
I'm new to bonsai and I'm really glad I found this forum :) I have a ton of questions, I'm sure you guys have heard before, so I'm sorry if this is annoying :S I am wondering what would make the best indoor bonsai, and best outdoor bonsai for a beginner like myself that I can buy as a pre-bonsai that can be worked on when I get it so I have some practice? I live in Michigan so the weather here is kind of cool, and I also live by the Detroit River so humidity is either higher or lower on any given day but the temperature is always lower. I also have an umbrella bonsai tree that I bought a few months ago and have just recently repotted it after reading a lot of articles on soils and such, but my question is, is how do I make it into a stellar bonsai? I haven't found anything on how to prune or wire it and I mean it is still very young(it only has 3 branches so far)so I have a little while before I really can do anything, but any advice would be awesome :) I'll have to find my camera so I can take a couple of pictures for you guys. Any advice is greatly appreciated :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hi :) 10 years 8 months ago #9425

• chrisv
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thanks received: 22
Welcome Marvel170!

I can't tell you to much about indoor bonsai, but i'm sure others can. What i do know is that they are all tropical plants.
A good tree to start out with are for example is the Ficus they do really well indoors and there is a ton of information on it.
Other species like Carmona and Serissa are a little harder to keep healthy and alive because they do need a lot of attention and good humidity.
Lot's of people fail in keeping them alive for a long time.

Outdoor bonsai is easier in my opinion.