Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Cupressus macrocarpa? 8 years 2 weeks ago #20237

• PandarenBonsai
  • PandarenBonsai's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hi guys

I live in UK and after watching the starter movie by Bonsai Empire I decided to get the exact species of bonsai they used which was Chamaecyparis Pisifera however, it was nowhere to be found in my area. So I found a plant looking relatively similar to it which was Cupressus Marcocarpa . Is this good for an indoor bonsai ? Has got a thick or thin trunk? I am a beginner at bonsai. I've attached the picture of the exact Cupressus Macrocarpa. Also can I apply what they Bonsai Empire did in the starter movie to Cupressus macrocarpa. :huh:

Thank you in advance! :lol:

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Cupressus macrocarpa? 8 years 2 weeks ago #20239

• Dominion
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thanks received: 28
this is not good for indoor bonsai..

i think the species itself isn't even suited for bonsai in general..

Cupressus macrocarpa? 8 years 2 weeks ago #20241

• simplysaid
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member
  • Thanks received: 54
Pandaranbonsai... Please don't get discouraged by the directness of this forum. I would suggest buying some books, take a class on Bonsai that is taught by an experienced artist.
In my opinion, the name Bonsai applies to trees that have earned it.
Look up good starter trees, get some experience (this may include killing a tree or two) then absorb others opinions.
The following user(s) said Thank You: PandarenBonsai

Cupressus macrocarpa? 8 years 2 weeks ago #20242

• PandarenBonsai
  • PandarenBonsai's Avatar Topic Author
Thank you simplysaid

Can you recommend any starter trees that look good. I'm looking for indoor and for it to be nursery stock which I can style into a Bonsai.

Cupressus macrocarpa? 8 years 2 weeks ago #20243

• simplysaid
  • Elite Member