Bonsai forum

Hunting for Trees

• JoshSiegel
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1

Hunting for Trees was created by JoshSiegel

Posted 7 years 7 months ago #26033
Hello All!

I have a few question for everyone today. This weekend I will be looking for young trees to possibly become bonsai in a few decades. I am not completely sure which trees I am looking for, as it is my first time at this specific nursery. I am looking for sub-tropical trees, possibly a juniper and it would be lovely if there was a pin oak(thrives in my region). That is not the point however of this page.

What criteria should I be looking for when I am looking for trees. Should I be looking for different criteria in different trees? There have been many people on the forum who have bought unbonsaiable trees and I don't want this to be me. The style of trees I am looking for is semi cascade and an upright. Onto the checklist!

What should be on my checklist for my trees?
Any specific leaf formation?
Maybe branch formation?
Amount of foliage?
Trunk formation?

I might sound very uninformed, but what I am asking for is tellers for a good bonsai. I am new to buying baby trees. If you have anything to add to my checklist feel free to do so(it will help me for sure :cheer: ).

I am not however only buying baby species, but possibly a bit more mature tree. However, I don't think I'll need help on that :silly: .
Well, that is all for now, I can't thank anybody enough for the help.

Many thanks,
Josh
Last Edit:7 years 7 months ago by JoshSiegel
Last edit: 7 years 7 months ago by JoshSiegel.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

Replied by Auk on topic Hunting for Trees

Posted 7 years 7 months ago #26037

JoshSiegel wrote: This weekend I will be looking for young trees to possibly become bonsai in a few decades. I am not completely sure which trees I am looking for