Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Hole and white roots on a Ficus Ginseng 6 years 7 months ago #35273

• MonkeyBen
  • MonkeyBen's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
Hi forum! This is my first time here, so apologies if I'm going over old ground but I have a bit of an emergency. Does anyone know what could be causing this weakness in the root of my ficus ginseng? And are those white root like structures normal? The root seems healthy around the hole, but that hole is soft and almost decaying?

Any advice or help is very gratefully received :)

Thanks in advance, Ben

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Hole and white roots on a Ficus Ginseng 6 years 7 months ago #35277

• Clicio
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1549

Does anyone know what could be causing this weakness in the root of my ficus ginseng?

Welcome to the Empire, Ben.
It's rotting, this much we already know.
Could be fungus, could be excess moisture, could be an insect infestation.
Ficus can take a lot of abuse, so if you have to chop this root to save it, it will probably survive the trauma.
The Helpful Gardener says: