Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

My Orme de Chine 6 years 5 months ago #35994

• Theo3401
  • Theo3401's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hi everybody, my name is Théo, and I just bought my first bonsai.
The conditions he is living in are in front of a window, on the north side. (so indoor)
During the summer, he'll go outside, but it's getting a bit cold now in Belgium, so i keep him in.

As a beginner, of course, I'm always worried that it's going bad, and the first time is right now.
I'm not good at gardening, so I have no clue if this is normal or not.
By the way, I'm french, so I'm sorry if my english is not great, it's just good for me to practice it.

Their we go, my Orme de chine :

So what worries me is that when i bought it 3 days ago, every leaves were green..now some of them are becoming yellow, and i wanted to know if that was normal cause fall has arrived, or if it's because he is missing something (or if it's because I am missing something?)

Thank you very much in advance for your help,

Théo

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

My Orme de Chine 6 years 5 months ago #35995

• tubaboy
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 170
Chinese Elms react to change by loosing their leaves...so if you are taking care of it properly, it might just need to get used to the new conditions. Have a look at the care guidlines on the website here. they do need lots of light, though... so a north facing window might not be the best place. If the tree was kept outside before you bought it, you should put it oustide.. they are hardy to a certain point...if it had spent it's life indoors, you should keep it inside until winter is over, and then maybe consider keeping it outside year round. but that depends on many factors.

My Orme de Chine 6 years 5 months ago #35998

• m5eaygeoff
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 850