Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Complete newbie, need some help getting started 6 years 2 months ago #37154

• Harrier
  • Harrier's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello everyone,

I'd like to get started with Bonsai trees. Ideally, I would like to cultivate them from scratch, because I believe that this would be the most fulfilling way of growing them – I don't mind if it takes years. So far, I have no experience with Bonsai trees whatsoever, though, so I could use some assistance. I will probably have a ton of questions during my journey, but first things first:

Let's start with the tree choice. I'd like to have at least some trees indoors, so I believe I should get a Ficus, since this is considered a classic choice for beginners. About the outdoor ones, I'm living in Central Europe and I have a balcony that is pointing to the South East. Can you give me some recommendations based on this climate and my skill level (or lack thereof)? Based on the pictures I've seen so far, one of my favorites would probably be the Japanese Maple with its lovely red leaves - could this be a viable choice already?

Also, I have heard that Fall is generally considered the ideal time to plant Bonsai trees, not sure if this varies depending on the type of tree. Right now, it's the middle of winter over here, does it even make sense to plant (outdoor) trees at all at this time?

Finally, what are the most basic tools and items that are required at this stage? Obviously, I'll need seeds, but what about soil, pots, and everything else?

Like I said, I will most likely have a lot more questions about this, but let's leave it at that for now. Thanks in advance for your answers, and let's hope that I will have a smooth start in this community and the world of Bonsai in general.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Complete newbie, need some help getting started 6 years 2 months ago #37159

• el_cheezer
  • Thanks received: 19