Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

to soak or not to soak? 6 years 1 month ago #38183

• melon
  • melon's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
So I’m still new in the bonsai world! But after successfully reviving my budda belly fig from frost bite and he had some amazing new shoots I decide to branch out and get belly fig #2!
I’ve seen a lot of blogs saying to submerge you bonsai and other saying NO NO NO!!
I decided to try watering my #1 by submerging him briefly however, this was a total fail! A few days later ALL his leaves dropped off, his trunk got soft and wrinkly and now he is showing clear signs of fungus. All this from one dunk!

So I want to know what people recommend, to dunk or not to dunk?

On a side note, I’ve tried all the tricks to try and restore #1 with no luck =(

Last but not least, for the 2yr I had my #1 I watered him purely with water from my fish tank. This was warm, had iron and fertilizer in it and my little guy seemed to love it! But now I’m worried this might have been a building up cause of his end?

And advice would be appreciated!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

to soak or not to soak? 6 years 1 month ago #38193

• Clicio
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1549

So I’m still new in the bonsai world!

Welcome to the forum!

I decided to try watering my #1 by submerging him briefly however, this was a total fail!

You should have asked first. Don't dunk or drown your plants.

I watered him purely with water from my fish tank. This was warm, had iron and fertilizer in it..

I have never heard of any benefits from aquarium water to bonsai. But maybe it's a technique I still have to learn.

to soak or not to soak? 6 years 1 month ago #38213

• spacewood
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 113
Soak = Death
The following user(s) said Thank You: Clicio

to soak or not to soak? 6 years 1 month ago #38231

• Ivan Mann
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member