Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Newbie here 6 years 1 month ago #38300

• herbonsai
  • herbonsai's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 2
Hi friends,

So i gained a lot of interest in Bonsai since i was like 14, which was a year ago,yes..im 15...I attempted a sage bonsai as we have a good size sage plant with an old-looking trunk,accidentally killed it because i pruned too many roots, and now im trying to train a Juniper Squamata into an informal upright style,only thing that i've done was remove all the foliage that was blocking the view of the trunk.I'm having some difficulties with deciding what branches to remove,some branches are still pretty thin so removing them can reduce the problem with styling it in the future.i will post a pic soon and any advice will be helpful..cheers!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Newbie here 6 years 1 month ago #38301

• tubaboy
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 170
The first rule of bonsai:

you can only Style a living tree.
second rule:
trees that are healthy and stong respond to Training better than trees that are not.

Aside from that I can more than recommend the courses offered here. Without seeing the tree it is difficult to know which branches to prune.

Newbie here 6 years 1 month ago #38313

• alainleon1983
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 185

So i gained a lot of interest in Bonsai since i was like 14, which was a year ago,yes..im 15...

Great... That is, in my opinion, a magnificent time to start learning and growing Bonsai. Fallbacks might come, just don´t give up. This hobby/art has a very strong tendency to reward those who persevere.

I attempted a sage bonsai as we have a good size sage plant with an old-looking trunk,accidentally killed it because i pruned too many roots,