Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Is My Bonsai Dying? 5 years 11 months ago #39572

• YasminePortella
  • YasminePortella's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hi there :)

This is my first time posting here, but I need urgent help!! I've never owned a bonsai before, but my brother gifted me one for my birthday. As a new bonsai owner it's safe to say I have no idea what I'm doing, but something is going very wrong... and at this point I have no idea what it is.

So, for the first couple of weeks my Chinese Elm bonsai (kept indoors) was doing great. She was flourishing, her leaves looked lush and green, and overall she looked like a happy little tree. Here's a brief summary of what I've been doing: I keep her on my windowsill during the day so she can get as much light as possible, but move her away from the window during the night as it tends to get a bit chilly. I'm terrified of overwatering, as I know it can cause root rot, so I wait till I see the earth in the pot is dry before I re-water. When watering the bonsai I try to make sure the earth is humid but not flooded (shown in pics). Once a week I add a bit of Pokon Bonsai Plantfood to the water, to make sure she's getting all her nutrients.