Hello, new here...

Rendering Error in layout User/Profile: Class "KunenaFactory" not found. Please enable debug mode for more information.

Hello, new here... was created by Ralph

Posted 5 years 10 months ago #41596
I class myself as a beginner although I have been dabbling for decades. I have never taken it too seriously but would like to give the few trees I have the best care I can. I have several plants I have grown in pots for many years one of these is a small piece of hedging I have been growing and trimming for well over 30 years. It is Lonicera nitida.

I want to know what to do with it. It is in a bonsai pot and is covered in moss. I was thinking about repotting it and removing all or some of the moss and exposing some of the roots. Any advice would be appreciated.

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.

EDIT: I forgot to mention, to give it scale it is in a pot that is 7 inches (18cm) diameter.

Many thanks,
Ralph.
Last Edit:5 years 10 months ago by Ralph
Last edit: 5 years 10 months ago by Ralph.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Rendering Error in layout User/Profile: Class "KunenaFactory" not found. Please enable debug mode for more information.

Replied by Clicio on topic Hello, new here...

Posted 5 years 10 months ago #41601

Ralph wrote: I was thinking about repotting it and removing all or some of the moss and exposing some of the roots.

hey Ralph, I quite like it.
The moss doesn't bother me at all.
Have you seen its roots? Are they spread in a circle, or interesting enough to show them?
The bark is great, but long branches with foliage at the ends are not.
Consider pruning it a bit lower down the branches (do they backbud on old wood? I sincerely don't know...)
Twin trunks are always a challenge anyway.
But, in the end, it has some nice movement and...
I still like it.
(not of great help, sorry)
by Clicio