Bonsai forum

Newbie Help Please.

• Jimmymack
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Newbie Help Please. was created by Jimmymack

Posted 5 years 10 months ago #41779
Hi to all, I have been given a Bonsai as a present and believe it was bought in France. Lovely thing but all the instructions are in French and cant find anywhere that says what species it is. I have zero knowledge with normal plants etc so Bonsai is beginning to look like witchcraft to me. I would hate to see this lovely thing die and would appreciate any help in identifying it and how to care for it. I have been advised to keep the soil moist all the time and have made out that it should have some kind of tray underneath it to provide water.
I have placed it in the window but only gets the sunshine in the morning. I have attached photos. Thanks in advance.
by Jimmymack

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Clicio
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1549

Replied by Clicio on topic Newbie Help Please.

Posted 5 years 10 months ago #41786

Jimmymack wrote: Lovely thing but all the instructions are in French and cant find anywhere that says what species it is.

Please take a picture of the french information provided with the tree and I will translate it for you.

Jimmymack wrote: I have zero knowledge with normal plants etc so Bonsai is beginning to look like witchcraft to me.

It is sorcery.
But you can learn it, if you take the time to do so.

Jimmymack wrote: I would appreciate any help in identifying it and how to care for it.

Start here:
www.bonsaiempire.com/tree-species/podocarpus

Jimmymack wrote: I have made out that it should have some kind of tray underneath it to provide water.

Bad and not needed decision.

Jimmymack wrote: I have placed it in the window but only gets the sunshine in the morning.

Bonsai trees belong outdoors.