Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Beginner with various trees 5 years 9 months ago #42804

• tomcotts
  • tomcotts's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hi guys,
I am a relative beginner to Bonsai and as well as having a couple of "ready made" bonsai from a garden centre, I also have three trees that are essentially raw material. I really don't know where to start with any of them and am looking for any tips or advice you could give me. The first is a boxwood (buxus sempervirens) which I guess is simplest of the three. I trimmed back a fair bit of the growth a couple of months ago and I'm happy to say that I have a lot of new growth of smaller, lighter coloured leaves (that I think should be visible in the pics attached). The second is a yew (taxus baccata semperaurea) with which I've done nothing. It splits into two trunks pretty much directly above the root ball and basically as soon as I got it home a couple of months ago the left trunk completely died off and was bare within a couple of days. If anyone can advise what to do with the dead trunk and with the tree in general that would be great. The third is an awesome willow that I won a few nights ago in a raffle. It looks like it has a good age to it and has a fair bit of new growth as well. I imagine I'll have to lose a lot of this growth, but if anyone can advise how much to lose and what to do with the tree that would be much appreciated. Would I also be able to replant the branches I prune and get more trees out of it? Thanks in advance for your advice!

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Beginner with various trees 5 years 9 months ago #42809

• m5eaygeoff
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 855
I suggest you buy a book and find a local club to join. It very difficult from pictures like this to see all around the plants to know where branches are and what might be possible.