Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Chinese Elm suddenly dropped nearly all leaves in 2 days! 5 years 7 months ago #44536

• Davemoly
  • Davemoly's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hi,im a beginner with this all.I purchased a chinese elm just over a month ago.I had it near a window and made sure it was watered just enough to keep it moist.Even using fertiser once a week and the tree flourished.I took it to my girlfriends as a present for her and it seemed to be fine at hers for a couple of weeks with the same instructions as id done.but last week,it suddenly dropped nearly all its leaves in the space of 2 days.Ive now brought it back to mine and tried the same care as before.Ive lined the pot with a thin layer of gravel to help drainage too.its been 4 days and altho it hasnt dropped the last of its leaves,it hasnt sprouted any new buds and i dont know what course of action to take.Please advice.Thank you

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by Davemoly.

Chinese Elm suddenly dropped nearly all leaves in 2 days! 5 years 7 months ago #44537

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

Last edit: Post by Auk.

Chinese Elm suddenly dropped nearly all leaves in 2 days! 5 years 7 months ago #44551

• Davemoly
The strange thing was,the leaves were all green and from appearances 'fresh' when they dropped.the tree is 7-8 years old.On the plus side,4 days after the 'big drop' the leaves that were on it are still there and there are green stems coming off some of the branches still,so im assuming its still alive.Ive smelt the soil and drainage hole to make sure theres no odour from root rot.Im guessing time and tlc is all i can do for the time being.

Chinese Elm suddenly dropped nearly all leaves in 2 days! 5 years 7 months ago #44559

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791