Bonsai forum

Indoor bonsai setup

• prex
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1

Indoor bonsai setup was created by prex

Posted 5 years 7 months ago #44577
Hello all,

I'm a newbie in the hobby: just got a 3-year-old Serissa Variegata in August as a father's day gift from my employer.
I live in Curitiba, a cloudy city in the south of Brazil, and my apartment doesn't get much sunlight. So, I decided to install LED light and make myself a support tray with aquarium rocks to maintain the humidity.
The articles in this forum are extremely helpful and I think I'm reaching my initial goal, that is preventing the bonsai do die, taking care of light and watering.
You'll find attached some pictures of the bonsai and my indoor setup, I really appreciate your comments.
Right now I have only one question regarding the fertilization: looks like there is some fertilizer in the soil (small white balls) and I'm not sure when to replace it, how to choose the best fertilizer and calculate the correct quantity. Could you please provide some advice?

Cheers,
Prex
by prex

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Clicio
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1549

Replied by Clicio on topic Indoor bonsai setup

Posted 5 years 7 months ago #44578
Hi prex, I am Brazilian too, from São Paulo, seja bem vindo ao forum.
It happens I've got a Serissa Variegata and it likes to be outside (a lot); but your inside light fixture seems ok IF you leave it on for at least 16hours/day and IF your house has no heating to overdry the ambient.
Air circulation could be an issue also, as the way the plant is enclosed now, allows for little to no fresh air; a fan is helpful in these instances.