Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Growths in bonsai pot 5 years 7 months ago #44734

• Beckmat
  • Beckmat's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello Bonsai empire community!

I am new to both the forum and bonsai care and therefore hope I can find some guidance and ensure my bonsai is doing okay. I am 20, currently living in the UK, I was bought a Chinese elm around 2 years ago and although I have taken care not to over water and to fertilize, I pruned for the first time today as I am not overly confident with my knowledge of bonsai care. For months now there has been an additional growth in my Bonsai tree’s pot- I don’t know whether this is another plant or tree and wondered if I should remove this or not? I have also been noticing a damp smell coming from the pot and am seeing white fluffy growths within the soil- I wonder if this is mold and if this is normal, harmful and whether it can be treated? I am also unsure whether or not I should repot my bonsai, I fear that the plant has become to big for the pot?

I have included some pictures and welcome any help or guidance people could provide. Thank you in advance:)

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Growths in bonsai pot 5 years 7 months ago #44735

• tubaboy
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 170
The white stuff is mold... the green stuff could be moss or algea. the other things look like a weed of some kind.. I think your tree is a tiger back fig. It is difficult to tell from the pictures, but it seems healthy.. has it been loosing leaves or anything?

have a look at this: www.bonsaiempire.com/tree-species/ficus it might give you some insight into your plant.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Beckmat

Growths in bonsai pot 5 years 7 months ago #44736

• Beckmat
Hi, Thank you for your reply!