• Page:

TOPIC:

Juniperus Procumbens "Nana" - help 5 years 6 months ago #44954

• masjstovel
  • masjstovel's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hi,

I am totally new to the Art of Bonsai.
After some 15-20 hours of scrolling the web and watching youtube the last couple of months, I bought my first raw material - a Juniper Nana from a florist yesterday and started to work on it. The tree is around 15-20cm high from the main roots to the top. It had very much dense growth.

I have some questions regarding this i hope some of you can answer, but some explanation of my work first.

Here is an explanation to what you see in the pictures attatched.

#1: The way the tree looked when i got it.
#2: The way the tree looked when i got it.
#3: The designated front side of the tree after i finished "styling" it.
#4: View from the top.
#5: View from underneath the front to see the wiring work.
#6: The apex from the back side of the tree

What i did after i got the tree:
First i removed it from the "plastic-pot" and exposed the trunk down to what i think is the main roots.
I also decided what side i wanted to front of the tree to be.

Then i started removing dead foliage and removed some of the branches which i thought would improve my wanted design of the tree. I found this part difficult as the tree was very dense as you can see in picture #1 and #2. As the tree is what i consider to be fairly young (?), the density of the branches and the foliage made the natural direction of the thin branches difficult to determine, and therefore difficult to know which to know which branches to remove - to get my wanted design.

After the sort of initial clean up, i removed foliage from the lower, and not so dense part of the branches, wanting to expose the trunk better, and at the same time trying to make the kind of highlighted pad-look, and not just a dense bush.