Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Thinning/Re-potting From Seedling 5 years 5 months ago #45527

• ddsabu
  • ddsabu's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello,

I'm completely new to bonsai and even gardening and I need some advice. I started growing from seeds in a starter kit. Right now I have a small pot with four Rocky Mountain Bristlecone Pine seedlings and another pot with five Norway Spruce seedlings. The were planted about six weeks ago.

The starter kit suggests I "thin out" the pots by clipping all but the two healthiest seedlings at the base. It makes sense, as they continue to grow, there's no way these pots can support these many seedlings/trees. That said, I really, really don't want to! All of the seedlings look healthy, and have the potential to thrive if I re-potted them. But I don't know if repotting such young seedlings is a risk. Also to complicate things, due to my inexperience, some of the seedlings are growing very close together, within an inch of each other. I'm not sure if their roots are too close together to re-pot.

Do I need to sacrifice some of the seedlings in order for the most healthy ones to survive, or is their a way for all of the seedlings to thrive? Can I wait another few weeks or months before making this decision? And If re-potting is an option, does anyone have a good how-to resource (youtube video, book, etc) to share?

Thanks in advance for your help, this is my first post!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Thinning/Re-potting From Seedling 5 years 5 months ago #45528

• Fonz
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thanks received: 46