Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Black Pine pre-Bonsai straight trunk no branches what to do? 5 years 1 week ago #47758

• ShawneeBoy
  • ShawneeBoy's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
I just bought a pre=Bonsai, Black Pine, not sure exact abe but it's called Size 1 where I got it. I'd like to make it the best Bonsai possible. It seems to have no possibilities, maybe because I'm a total newbie and have no idea what to do. It's still in it's nursery container, and is about 13" with a straight thin trunk and no side branches at all. At the top it has a healthy looking but? looks like a mini embryo pine cone, and around it has many long soft needles and some shorter stiff needles lower. I've searched but I haven't been able to find advice on what I can do to entourage any kind of side growth and branches. I fear it will grow too tall, it's too tall already, if I do nothing. So, any ideas about what I can do to lower the height and make it interesting? I've done no pruning of anything or any wiring, nothing, so far.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Black Pine pre-Bonsai straight trunk no branches what to do? 5 years 1 week ago #47759

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791
Sounds like you did not buy a pre Bonsai but a sapling.

A picture would help.
The following user(s) said Thank You: ShawneeBoy

Black Pine pre-Bonsai straight trunk no branches what to do? 5 years 1 week ago #47761

• ShawneeBoy

Sounds like you did not buy a pre Bonsai but a sapling.

A picture would help.