Bonsai forum

Brand new, too late in the year to pick up a pre-bonsai stock?

• Lawlcat
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1

Brand new, too late in the year to pick up a pre-bonsai stock? was created by Lawlcat

Posted 5 years 2 days ago #48640
I'm brand new to bonsai and looking to get started, I'd like to pick up just a simple juniper type. I live in Central Florida (zone 9b) and have decent weather most of the year, but I'm seeing most places say to do the wiring in the winter, and trimming in early spring?

It's now late april and I was planning on driving to some local nurseries, however few there are, to see if I can find a nice plant or two to pick up. I assume it would be way too early to take them out of their nursery pot/soil and move them into some bonsai soil and pot, but what about trimming it down to at least shape it? These juniper stocks seem to basically come in giant flat pads of bushes and everyone trims them down to the rough tree shape they are going for, then wires, but I dont know if it's too late for any stock I would pick up now.

Should I just grab something that I dig around in and find has a nice interesting shape, and then leave it until next spring?
by Lawlcat

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654

Replied by leatherback on topic Brand new, too late in the year to pick up a pre-bonsai stock?

Posted 5 years 2 days ago #48643
I do not know what plants do in Florida this time of year.

in general ,I prefer to get trees in the right substrate first, and do styling second, using the buld of foliage to re-establish the tree in the pot. Doing this in winter is easier on the plant, because the roots are not actively growing and the water demand from the plant is less high. That being said, I have repotteed mid-summer too. But that is someone who has some experience doing it, which may make all the difference.
by leatherback