Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Complete beginner: trying to get started 4 years 10 months ago #50186

• Dawn
  • Dawn's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello there !
I am wanting to get into the Bonsai hobby and have a few noob questions.
I am living in an apartment without access to a balcony or outdoor storage area, so I am not sure what plants will be the best for keeping indoors. I have read the list of indoor plants, but I'm not sure which one is best suited to my living situation. Low light/ partial shade ( but I am able to get small grow lights), low humidity ( does a small humidifier beside the plant help? )
I am hoping to start from seed, something that I can get easily, like citrus maybe ? I have been told that juniper can be a good indoor bonsai, but I have read conflicting information on that.
Soil is another thing I was wondering about. I was wondering about a soil mixture or blend that I could mix myself with inexpensive ingredients.
Lastly, how should I start the seeds ? after I use scarification, where should i plant them ? I have a starter kit with coconut fiber substrate, but I'm sot sure if that's a good substrate or not.

I am hoping to shed my reputation as a plant assassin. If you want a plant "dealt with" , I was the go to person for the job. I was told that Bonsai might teach me how to better take care of plants as well as help combat depression.

any and all information and help will be appreciated. I want to learn all I can before jumping in with both feet.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Complete beginner: trying to get started 4 years 10 months ago #50192

• Felidae
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 236
Hey Dawn :)
As I live in an apartment , I know some pain of yours, but I have a good situated balcony with full sun and full shade if needed.