Bonsai forum

Will solar tubes provide enough light for a Sago Palm Bonsai?

• jizared09
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Will solar tubes provide enough light for a Sago Palm Bonsai? was created by jizared09

Posted 4 years 9 months ago #50981
Hello everyone!

I’m a complete beginner to Bonsai, despite owing a Willow Leaf Ficus Bonsai that seems to take care of itself out doors with dappled sun and 1-2 waterings a week. I’ve had it for about 10 years and never pruned anything (it was pruned and shaped before I got it, the wire is in the same position as it was 10 years ago), so I’ve got no experience except this one easy-to-grow Bonsai that I treat like any other plant and it thrives.

I recently picked up a gorgeous 20 year old Sago Palm Bonsai and want to keep it inside the house on the dining room table as it’s an incredible centerpiece and looks so good in that location. For light, I have two 24” solar light tubes that bring in quite a bit of sunlight. The Bonsai is directly under one of the lights and gets light from the other solar tube as well. I’ve read in many places online that Sago Palms will do just fine inside (of course it will do better outside.) From research, I expect less growth and slightly longer leaves from the new growth, which I’m fine with.

Do you guys think the dual solar tubes that provide a good amount of light will allow the Bonsai to continue to grow, albeit slowly? Or is this a bad idea and I should just put it outside? Remember, it’s in a wonderful spot, and slower growth doesn’t deter me. Thanks for your time!
Last Edit:4 years 9 months ago by jizared09
Last edit: 4 years 9 months ago by jizared09.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

Replied by Auk on topic Will solar tubes provide enough light for a Sago Palm Bonsai?

Posted 4 years 9 months ago #50982