Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Beginner: Need hep with trunk chopping advice 4 years 8 months ago #52206

• bfunk99
  • bfunk99's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
I really dislike the un-natural trunk curves, thick branches pointing diff directions, etc. I'm leaning towards chopping just above the first branch to start over and re-develop, but had questions as I am a bonsai beginner.
- is just above the first branch too low, is this a good place? I was thinking before it's first curve?
- when would it be best to do so, late summer or after winter?
- any other thoughts or input appreciated

thanks in advance!

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Beginner: Need hep with trunk chopping advice 4 years 8 months ago #52208

• Shephered
  • Thanks received: 13
If you're unhappy with the shape there are less drastic ways to change it than to do an entire trunk chop (I do personally believe chopping right after the first branch is a bit extreme, but that's a preference). If you use a trunk splitter and pierce the middle of the trunk in multiple places the tree will become more pliable and you can use heavy wire to slowly reshape it.

www.google.com/search?q=trunk+splitting+...Xd7zB7HW5gKJ5qmIDQ21
The following user(s) said Thank You: bfunk99

Last edit: Post by Shephered.

Beginner: Need hep with trunk chopping advice 4 years 8 months ago #52213

• bfunk99
  • bfunk99's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
If I were to attempt that, what would be the best time of the year? Does same theory work for the branches? Some are so disproportionately thick, maybe better off removing a few major branches? Thanks again.

Beginner: Need hep with trunk chopping advice 4 years 8 months ago #52216

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654