Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

I am new to bonsai and would like suggestions 4 years 6 months ago #52834

• Bsheimo
  • Bsheimo's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
I recently purchased a Fukien Tea bonsai from a store because I’ve always been very interested in them and wanted one. I know that buying a Mallsai is usually not the best idea but my tree seems fairly healthy (I’ve had it for a few weeks and it’s hasnt had any major leaf loss, just one or two here and there) the biggest questions I am having is if it would be okay to put it in a proper pot and bonsai soil and if there are any suggestions on pruning and shaping Because I feel like some branches are over grown and wild. I don’t know exactly how old it is, all I know is it’s in normal soil and takes a long time to drain. I have bonsai soil mix and a proper pot for it but I don’t know if it is ready to be re-potted or not. I don’t know a whole lot about bonsai yet so anything is appreciated thanks!

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by Bsheimo.

I am new to bonsai and would like suggestions 4 years 6 months ago #52835

• Tropfrog
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1326
I would repot. But Take your time studying how to do it properly.

Br
Magnus

I am new to bonsai and would like suggestions 4 years 6 months ago #52836

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

I recently purchased a Fukien Tea bonsai from a store because I’ve always been very interested in them and wanted one. I know that buying a Mallsai is usually not the best idea but my tree seems fairly healthy

It's not only about health. This plant has very little to do with the art of bonsai. It is not much more than a shaped plant in a fancy pot, with fancy stones and decorative dead moss, all elements you will not find in real bonsai.