Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

japanese maple bonsai red leaves turning green with brown tips 4 years 4 months ago #54722

• pinkegg
  • pinkegg's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
hi All! I am very new to the art of bonsai. I have purchased a Japense red maple bonsai a month ago, it was beautiful with red leaves, and I keep it indoors.

my bonsai has started to turn green and some of the leaves are getting brown tips.

from googling, I understand that the leaves turning green may mean that it's not getting enough sunlight. and the browning could mean that it's getting sunburnt. So as you can see, I'm very lost now. I don't know if I should give it more sun or less sun?

I used to give it small amount of watering frequently. then I read that it's better to give it lots of water but less frequently. so I did that.

help me please I don't want to lose my tree! should I give it more light or less? more watering perhaps? will the leaves turn red again? I have attached some photos.

thankyou!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

japanese maple bonsai red leaves turning green with brown tips 4 years 4 months ago #54723

• pinkegg
hope the photo shows up!

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

japanese maple bonsai red leaves turning green with brown tips 4 years 4 months ago #54724

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

hi All! I am very new to the art of bonsai. I have purchased a Japense red maple bonsai a month ago, it was beautiful with red leaves, and I keep it indoors.

Trees belong outdoors.

japanese maple bonsai red leaves turning green with brown tips 4 years 4 months ago #54731

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654
Many red leaves turn green after spring.
And yees. Keep it outside. Dried leaves .. dry air..
The following user(s) said Thank You: pinkegg