Bonsai forum

Help Needed - Encouraging Growth On A Japanese Maple

• SABonsai
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 5

Help Needed - Encouraging Growth On A Japanese Maple was created by SABonsai

Posted 4 years 1 month ago #57163
Hi all!

I am new to Bonsai and got 2 bonsai's for Christmas, a Japanese Maple and a Metasequoia Forest. They are strong and healthy, but when trying to prune back the Maple a bit I noticed how some branches were just crossing the trunk too much, so I had to cut them off. The problem now being that the entire left side of the tree has no branches coming out of the trunk and so it is looking a bit sparse.

Is there a way that I can get some back-budding on the trunk of the tree so as to develop new branches? Or are my options limited only to chopping the tree down to the fork, creating a new node and leader and letting it grow back up again (which I would really rather not do)?

Thanks for your time!
by SABonsai

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• SABonsai
  • Offline Topic Author

Replied by SABonsai on topic Help Needed - Encouraging Growth On A Japanese Maple

Posted 4 years 1 month ago #57181
Here are some images of the front, and the back of the tree.
by SABonsai

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

• BomexX
  • Thanks received: 7

Replied by BomexX on topic Help Needed - Encouraging Growth On A Japanese Maple

Posted 4 years 1 month ago #57188
Normally a healty maple backbuds easily.
So with a little patience a bud will pop out there somewhere.
by BomexX
The following user(s) said Thank You: SABonsai

• crent89
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 230

Replied by crent89 on topic Help Needed - Encouraging Growth On A Japanese Maple

Posted 4 years 1 month ago #57195

SABonsai wrote: so I had to cut them off.