Bonsai forum

Can I Start a Bonsai From a Sprout? Or Do I Need to Start at My Desire Size?

• brandfluke
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Can I Start a Bonsai From a Sprout? Or Do I Need to Start at My Desire Size? was created by brandfluke

Posted 4 years 1 week ago #58112
Hey guys!

I'm brand new to bonsai and to this forum. I'm looking forward to learning from you all!

Most videos I find online about getting started with bonsai talk about purchasing a tree from a local nursery, and pruning and shaping it to my heart's desire. I'm wondering about a different approach.

A few months ago, amidst my early, excited, and impressionable phase of bonsai learning, I bought a Chinese Juniper online and it was shipped to me. It arrived healthy, but much smaller than I had hoped for it to be. I plan on taking all the steps necessary to help it grow nice and strong, but to be honest, I'm a little impatient and want to make it a bonsai sooner, rather than in a year or two when it would be large enough to be like the videos I've watched.

Should I start pruning and shaping it while it's still young? Will this stunt it's growth? Right now it's about the size of a baseball, and I'd prefer it to be around the size of a cantaloupe. If I let it grow from this point, should I refrain from pruning it until it's my preferred size? Or will pruning and shaping it now help it be more beautiful by the time it's larger?

The other obvious option is to just go and purchase a tree that's already the size I want, and make a bonsai nice and quick from there. I only want to do this option if I can't make a bonsai out of my little tree, and if doing so won't make him stop growing.

I hope my questions make sense. To more plainly repeat myself, can I start pruning my tree now and let it grow to its proper size? Or would I have to wait until it's the size I want to actually start making it into a bonsai?

Thank you all!
by brandfluke