Bonsai forum

Advices for cryptomeria and juniper

• RedRocket
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

Advices for cryptomeria and juniper was created by RedRocket

Posted 3 years 7 months ago #63017
Hi everyone !

I'm relatively new in the world of bonsai. Last spring I bought young cryptomeria and juniper from a nursery. I'd like to train them to become one day truly formed bonsais. I read some books like the Naka to learn the basic techniques. So now I need some advices to take care of my trees correctly ^^' My project for the juniper is to give him a cascade shape. And for my cryptomeria I'd like to train him to a shokan style.

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.

This image is hidden for guests.

They have grown nicely during the summer. But I think I was too impatient with the juniper and I already wired it (and badly) to give him a shape. Now there is a big mark on the trunk... This mark will disappear over the years I guess ?

I didn't touch the cryptomeria during all the summer. But now there is some curvatures on the trunk. How should I fix this ?

When should I start to wire, pruning and pinching them ? And how ? I live in a mediterranean region with a hot and long summer.

Every advice and critic will be very helpful !!

Thank you for your help :)
Last Edit:3 years 7 months ago by RedRocket

This message has attachments images.

Last edit: 3 years 7 months ago by RedRocket.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• m5eaygeoff
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 855

Replied by m5eaygeoff on topic Advices for cryptomeria and juniper

Posted 3 years 7 months ago #63018