Bonsai forum

TOPIC:

Please help to identify my bonsai! :( 1 year 10 months ago #76050

• dianak1
  • dianak1's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
Hello everyone. I am a beginner, always dreamed of a bonsai , and when I started searching a website to buy a Japanese bonsai, I was surprised to see that there are so many types of trees for bonsai. So, I found a website, where was written:
“Name: Zelkova
Family: Ulmaceae Country of origin: Southern Europe and Asia (Japan and China)
Pot diameter: 15 cm
Height from vase base: 40 cm
History and curiosity: Fossil remains of this plant, according to the Palaeobiology Database, are native to Canada and belong to the Cretaceous period, dating back to 80 million years ago.

Zelkova: inevitable in the collection of every bonsaiist Zelkova is a beautiful Japanese bonsai that features green, jagged leaves that turn orange in autumn. It is an indoor bonsai that has a decidedly graceful bearing; precisely for this reason it is a species that can be found very frequently in the collection of any bonsaist. It lends itself very well to growing with a deck style which gives it a decidedly intriguing look. To this is added its resistance to pests and diseases which facilitates its cultivation even more: even beginners will not find themselves in difficulty. In this kit you will find everything you need to refine your bonsai art with this splendid essence. It loves the light, but the direct sun on the leaves - especially in high temperatures - should be avoided. It can also be placed outdoors in the hottest months, but avoiding the alternation of the two positions. A couple of times a month the impaled Zelkova should be fertilized, and in the autumn a pruning should be performed, eliminating the branches that grow in an untidy way. As far as watering is concerned, it is advisable not to overdo it and, before repeating the operation, let the soil dry well. Repotting must be done every two years, using specific soil”.