Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Please Help Identify This One 1 year 6 months ago #78080

• kgast11
  • kgast11's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello, I'm brand new to bonsai and I kind of ended up here on accident. In the process of researching the subject, a friend of mine found out that I was looking into bonsai. They got excited because they are currently taking classes on it (they are actually from Japan), and they ran out and bought me one from Lowes. I was wondering if someone could tell me exactly what I'm dealing with here. I believe it's a Ficus of some kind (maybe benjanima, golden gate, or tiger bark?), but I'm not overly familiar with ornamental fig trees. I grow several types of 3-4 ft. fruiting fig trees in pots, and I have one rubber tree, but that's about the extent of it (they are spoiled & well guarded trees). I was also wondering what style it was supposed to be. It kind of looks like it's supposed to be an informal upright, but I'm not 100% sure and I don't want to ruin any work that's already been done to it. It looks nice and healthy, the roots look good, and I don't see any bad spots on it anywhere, but it does look a little tall and lanky to me and I get the feeling that it currently needs some maintenance. Is it supposed to look that way? If not, how can I fix it or improve it?

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Please Help Identify This One 1 year 6 months ago #78094

• Albas
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 291
Hello, this os a Ficus Microcarpa Tiger Bark...
Idk what do you mean by supposed to look this way...
It surely can be improved, but It doesn't look bad, It just lacks of lower branches, you can estimulate them by prunning the top pneus and left the lower ones unprunned.

On this pot it will develop very slowly tho...
The following user(s) said Thank You: kgast11