Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Greetings Fellow Bonsai-ers! 12 years 5 months ago #2719

• CarlExter
  • CarlExter's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
Hello,

My name is Carl Exter and I am brand new to bonsai. I've been doing a lot of research on the art and what I need to know to grow a beautiful tree. This site is one of the more informative ones that I found so I decided to join the forum. Help and guidance would be greatly appreciated, and judging from the threads that I've seen, is generously given in this forum.

I recently purchased acer rubrum and acer palmatum seeds. Today is their first day out of the stratification period. Any words of wisdom from other Maple-lovers out there?

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by CarlExter.

Re: Greetings Fellow Bonsai-ers! 12 years 5 months ago #2720

• aklister71
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thanks received: 2
;) Happy to see another nOOb here. I am waiting for my seeds to come. I have a Juniper - not sure of the age. Thinking 2 years.

:unsure: I am going to try Japanese Pagoda, Chinese Elm, Blue Japanese Wisteria and Bamboo-Leaf Japanese Red Maple. They will all grow in zone 5.

I am looking forward to the enjoyment and the impatient waiting. I can handle the growing -- not to good at the germination period. :silly:

My friend gave me some Jack Pine .. who knows how long they were in her car. Followed the stratification directions, been 10 days planted -- I am giving them more time. :whistle:

Last edit: Post by aklister71.

Re: Greetings Fellow Bonsai-ers! 12 years 5 months ago #2725

• daniele
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
welcome Carl. Where do you live?
Here many people live in countries or regions very different and location is very important to answer questions of growing.
It does not grow trees in the same way as UDSA areas in which we live

Re: Greetings Fellow Bonsai-ers! 12 years 5 months ago #2732

• CarlExter