Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Beginner Bonsaier 12 years 1 month ago #3916

• Wiseman84
  • Wiseman84's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
Good morning,

I am brand new to gardening in general. I was talking to a friend and he spiked my interest to go out and try to grow a few trees of my own. I'm not really sure what the plans are for the trees size-wise and I am just learning about styling/potting and everything else that comes with it. I'm looking forward to diving in on a new hobby and hope to learn from all you experts out there.

The three trees I bought (please correct me if I'm wrong):

1. Pachira Aquatica (money tree)
2. Ficus Fig (unk species)
3. Unknown palm

The last two were bought at Home Depot. I tried looking at their website delrayplants.com but I'm a newbie and there are apparently a ton of different kinds of palm trees.

Lastly, what do you suggest I do going forward with the trees? Recommendations on soils/fertilizers/tools? Where do you guys go to purchase your materials?

As far as the fig, I think I should get a shallower pot to influence horizontal root growth. Pardon my fashionable price sticker!

Thanks,

Aaron

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Beginner Bonsaier 12 years 1 month ago #3917

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654
Hi and welcome to the hobby.

two of three trees I can name offhand:

the palm is a cycad tree: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cycad
This plant is not suitable for bonsai as it only grows one set of leaves per year maximum and grows very slowly

The ficus is a Ficus Retusa, also commonly referred to as the bonsai ficus, due to the widespreak use for 'mall sai': Bonsai sold in home deco stores.

how to proceed.. in my opinion..