Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Beginner needs advice 12 years 9 months ago #418

• jjfishfillet
  • jjfishfillet's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

I am just starting out ant have a few questions. This is a blue spruce that i I picked up at a hardware store. I was wondering because it is root bound, should I root prune in regular soil and leave it alone or should I prune the roots, style and placein bonsai pot and bonsai soil? The particular book I am reading for states to re pot a spruce in mid spring. Should I wait until mid spring to do anything?

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Beginner needs advice 12 years 9 months ago #419

• babybirdsfunk
i have a similar dilemma with some other conifers that im working on.

an instructor at a bonsai class told me to comb out the roots about a half inch on the side, not too much. then i put mine in a larger pot with additional good soil in it.

im planning on leaving it in there til next spring, then doing a root pruning/repotting.

he told me it was too late in the season and the tree would probably not survive a root pruning (unless you're an expert at bonsai, which i am not).

comb out the roots slightly, then give it some room to grow next year until you can do a good repotting. that would be my advice.

Re: Beginner needs advice 12 years 9 months ago #420

• Oscar
  • Administrator
  • Administrator
  • Thanks received: 291
I completely agree with your sound advice Babybird. Do some minor combing/pruning and plant it in a spacious pot now but wait till next year before styling it properly. As soon as you place the tree in a smaller pot, it grows slower which means the thickness of your tree's trunk wont increase either.

Good luck!!

Re: Beginner needs advice 12 years 9 months ago #421

• Everts