Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Help me plan out a project? 11 years 10 months ago #5482

• Markw
  • Markw's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hey everyone! I'm new around these parts. My name's Mark and I'm a photographer from Baltimore, MD, USA. Sometime soon, I would like to start a project I've been thinking about for quite a while now. I have a 75g aquarium sitting around, and I'd really like to make the entire tank into a scenery, instead of a fish tank or using it to hold some other critter. Obviously, this would feature a bonsai tree, or a few.

I've done a bit of research, but not too extensively. When learning a new trade, I find it better to learn from the horse's mouth, per se. So, I come to ask you guys if this will even be possible.

Keeping temperature relatively consistent shouldn't be a problem. As of now, I have (2) Power Compact fixtures on the tank. Each contains (2) 96w power compact bulbs. (but, I also have a fixture that would hold a halogen bulb and strip grow light should that be necessary.

As a side note, the tank is only roughly 24" tall, so I don't have all the room in the world. :)

So, I guess I'm asking the following:

1. Would it be possible to house and grow a bonsai species under these conditions (60-75F, given light conditions)?
2. If so, what species would you recommend?

Once I get some answers to those, I'll ask some more.

Thanks so much in advance!
Mark

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Re: Help me plan out a project? 11 years 10 months ago #5485

• Pinkham
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 62
Bonsai need free draining soil and air circulation .A terrarium is a closed environment with no drainage.You'll have trouble keeping a bonsai healthy in a terrarium. Try using plants that will survive there, not bonsai trees.

Re: Help me plan out a project? 11 years 10 months ago #5487

• Axioq
  • Thanks received: 3
in regards to the drainage comment