Bonsai forum

2-3 Year Old Ficus Retusa

• Jer
  • Offline Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0

2-3 Year Old Ficus Retusa was created by Jer

Posted 11 years 10 months ago #5929
Hi All,

I'm brand new to bonsai, and one of my first projects is to take a 2-3 year old sapling and grow him up into something I'm proud of. I'm going to be keeping it in my apartment, so I thought a ficus retusa was a good bet.

He's pretty healthy and has a lot of growth, but I'm sure that I need some help to thicken up his trunk and get him ready to live as a bonsai.

For starters, he's currently around 5 1/2" (~14 cm) tall, and I want his trunk to be 2-3x as thick as it is now. I'm going to be moving it into a larger pot (possibly a plastic bonsai training pot), but I've heard different advice on what it should be living in when I do that. Should it be regular potting soil, or grainier bonsai soil?

Also, is it too early to be encouraging sideways, rather than downward, root growth? If I put him into a larger planter-pot, I was going to put him on top of a tile no more than 4 inches under the surface . . . good idea or bad idea?

My other question is how to get an informal upright style. I want to grow this ficus into a pretty bendy, well-tapered bonsai. I'm a little scared lopping off the entire top half or 2/3's of the tree, but I guess that's just a leap I'll have to take once the trunk thickens up. To really get a nice bend in the trunk, should I be wire-training beginning now, or should I wait to worry about that until the trunk thickens up at the base.

Thanks in advance for any and all advice!
by Jer

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• James May
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thanks received: 13

Replied by James May on topic Re: 2-3 Year Old Ficus Retusa

Posted 11 years 10 months ago #5930