Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

CABALLERO (Caesalpinia pulcherrinma) OR NOT 10 years 8 months ago #9269

• Judelt
  • Judelt's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
Good day to everyone!

I am new to the Art of Bonsai and had recently purchased one that apparently is a Caballero (Caesalpinia pulcherrinma) -Fire/Flame Tree. When I first saw this tree, I loved the movement and uniqueness of the trunk. The vision of this tree in full bloom with orange or yellow flowers excited me. As the small branches and leaves came out, I noticed that these were not the same as the what I have observed with other older Caballero trees -which had finer, smaller and more leaves. Nevertheless, I can still see its potential and so I need information on it. Can anyone tell me what tree this is and how best to care for it?
Thanks!

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: Post by Judelt. Reason: Too dumb to get it right on the 3rd time!

CABALLERO (Caesalpinia pulcherrinma) OR NOT 10 years 8 months ago #9277

• manofthetrees
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 193
holey crap thats a large tree to dive into bonsai with :P ...anyway i would let it grow out for a season or 2 to get a good root system going. as you can see it reacts well to hard prunning so after unhindered growth branches can be prunned back hard and regrown to achieve taper and charater.

CABALLERO (Caesalpinia pulcherrinma) OR NOT 10 years 8 months ago #9282

• doddsy
  • Thanks received: 16
Looks like a Robinia pseudoacacia.

CABALLERO (Caesalpinia pulcherrinma) OR NOT 10 years 8 months ago #9288

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3653

Looks like a Robinia pseudoacacia.

Looks like it, but isn't (Unless all of the sudden european species are thriving in the tropics.