Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

What bonsai is best for my climate? 8 years 8 months ago #16606

• Kswc2000
  • Kswc2000's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hello,

I live in Newfoundland, Canada, ( which is an average of 10 degrees C throughout the year, and gets lots of snow in winter) and I am quite new to the art of bonsai. I have always been interested, and started last summer with a Ficus and two Fukien teas, I wanted to try indoor bonsai before I moved into outdoor bonsai because I wanted to practice and see if I could handle the skill and care bonsai trees need. Now that I have decided on getting a few outdoor bonsai, I am wondering what trees I should invest in, I am particularally interested in coniferous trees, and I wanted some advice as to which species will suit my climate, and how should I start the tree, seed, cutting, or nursery stock.

Thanks,
Kurtis

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

What bonsai is best for my climate? 8 years 8 months ago #16610

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

Hello,

I live in Newfoundland, Canada
I am wondering what trees I should invest in

Best thing to do is try a native tree that is suitable for bonsai.
Look up native trees of Newfoundland .
For each tree, type in the name + 'bonsai' in Google.

For example, the list shows "Larix Laricina". Googling for "Larix Laricina Bonsai" gave me:
bonsaijournal.com/larch-with-taper.php
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kswc2000

What bonsai is best for my climate? 8 years 8 months ago #16615

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654
excellent advice from Auk.

In General, juniperus, pinus, Larix are the families for you to consider first. If you can, try to locate a group in newfoundland, and also ask them which species they use, and how they keep them over winter.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Kswc2000