Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Complete newbi repotting question! 8 years 6 months ago #16920

• Toooooby
  • Toooooby's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hey everyone!

So this is my first post in here, I sure hope you can helpme ! - I just got my first bonsai tree. According to the note its a Ficus Ginseng Bonsai.

Unfortunately it came in a pretty big, ugly plastic pot. Obviously i want to re-pot it!

Now my question is, can i do this without any further trouble? And is there a specific time of year i should do it?

The tree it self is about 24 inches tall and it looks like this:

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.

I really want to put it in a tray-type pot, but how big would that need to be for the plant to stay healthy?

I've seen a ton of videos online, so i kinda know about the plastic mesh, and the speciel kind of soil you need and how you need to prune the roots. But is there .anything else i should know?

Thanks a ton!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Complete newbi repotting question! 8 years 6 months ago #16921

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

I've seen a ton of videos online, so i kinda know about the plastic mesh, and the speciel kind of soil you need and how you need to prune the roots. But is there .anything else i should know?

This is a houseplant, not a bonsai. Follow the general guidelines for Ficus Microcarpa houseplants:

www.plantsrescue.com/ficus-microcarpa/

Complete newbi repotting question! 8 years 6 months ago #16924

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3653
There is a cool bonsai hiding though. I think if you were to go bonsai, you should chop it bak to thee first ball of leaves (!) :blink: Then the trunk diameter and the height work well. Now it is a shapely houseplant :(

Complete newbi repotting question! 8 years 6 months ago #16926

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member