Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Complete Newb question - young Brazilian pine 7 years 11 months ago #20588

• alpenlupe
  • alpenlupe's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 2
Hi all - complete newb here so be gentle ;)

I'm in the UK. I planted this Brazilian pine (aka Paraná pine or candelabra tree - Araucaria angustifolia) from seed last May. I kept it in a small pot indoors through the winter and watered sparingly. It looks like this right now (it's about 9 inches high).

My objective is to keep it small and healthy and maybe even one day end up with a beautiful bonsai :)

Should I start pruning it (and if so, how? I've googled pruning pines but I'm not quite sure what category this falls into)? How about root pruning? Repotting?

regards
alpen

This message has an attachment image.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Complete Newb question - young Brazilian pine 7 years 11 months ago #20592

• Samantha
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 151
It'll be a few years before there's anything to prune.

Complete Newb question - young Brazilian pine 7 years 11 months ago #20595

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

My objective is to keep it small and healthy

You can forget about both. You cannot keep it in a pot, you cannot keep it indoors, you cannot keep it small and it is not suitable for bonsai.

Last edit: Post by Auk.

Complete Newb question - young Brazilian pine 7 years 4 months ago #27789

• Shun
  • Thanks received: 5
I had to register to this forum and I hope I`m not too late..!
Making a bonsai out of Araucaria Angustifolia is a real challenge but it is possible.. There is one example in the world and the owner is Renato Hoenig, owner of a bonsai garden in Curitiba - Paraná (our estate flag has an Araucaria on it so yeah.. its a big deal)

Here it is on natural scale:

This image is hidden for guests.