Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

So I Fell in Love with a Mallsai... 5 years 1 month ago #46978

• syllah
  • syllah's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Five weeks ago I met a little mallsai while I was out grocery shopping and fell in love. It seems to be mostly healthy Carmona, but it did arrive with a mild case of fungus gnats and what i suspect is a touch of fungus on its leaves. I'm a total newb at keeping plants so I've been trying to read as much as I can here before I open my mouth, but I think i'm finally ready to ask a few questions:

1.) What's your favorite way to get rid of gnats? Has anyone tried "beneficial nematodes"? The weird glass soil covering? I've seen some people suggest using neem oil in the soil -- if that's your jam, how do you apply it? The idea of just pouring straight oil into the soil seems odd to me, and i'm guessing there is more to it.

2.) What's your favorite fungicide? There seem to be many different kinds (copper, zinc/manganese, neem oil etc.) on the market - but I don't know that they'd all be suitable for bonsai?

3.) unrelated to pests -- I think I need to re-pot my little friend. The pot she came in has no drainage holes in the bottom and I don't want her to get root rot. I've read that the best time to re-pot is in spring.. but that seems like a pretty broad definition. Are we talking, spring, like when the sap starts to flow and we tap maples to make syrup -- or spring like leaf buds are appearing on trees outside -- or spring like the snow is finally gone and the grass is starting to turn green? Does it even matter since I live in Minnesota and my tree friend will most likely never be outdoors?