Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Sticky Bonsai leaves 8 years 3 months ago #18174

• willatarchi
  • willatarchi's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hi All,
I'm new to this but have bought a lovely big bonsai in September (I'm not sure what the specie it is, but it flowers tiny white flowers). I'm sure I was told it was evergreen, but within the first month or so in the flat, it lost most of the leaves (might be just adjusting to the environment)

Since purchasing the plant, I have noticed the leaves were sticky. The tree lost of leaves (90% of leaves went brown in Oct/Nov). I gave it a good wash and leaves seems to be growing back (it seems to be growing some new leaves in the last month). I have also brought fungicide (for mildew/black spot), which I spray once a week.

However, the stickiness has not gone away and I have noticed the white growth on the trunks (see pics). The stickiness is so bad that not only are the leaves sticky, but it makes the areas around the tree sticky (eg the floor around the plant; the table which the plant sits on).

I don't see any crawling bugs, so I guess it must be fungus. (?) Maybe I just need to spray the fungicide more frequently? But I don't want to harm the tree, so I thought I should ask for advice before spraying a lot of chemical on it.

I have read somewhere that it is good to keep spiders on the tree (they eats pests). I found 2 when I was washing down the tree 2 month ago when all the leaves were brown. At the time, I suspected the stickiness might be due to the spiders, so I washed them away. Is this a good thing? (how do I re-introduce spiders)

Lastly, if you happen to know what species my bonsai is, please let me know.

Thanks in advance.

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Sticky Bonsai leaves 8 years 3 months ago #18175

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791