Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

New member with new bonsai 7 years 6 months ago #25892

• OfficialRyGuy
  • OfficialRyGuy's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
Hi all,

I am a beginner bonsai owner and looking at a few things with a newly purchased bonsai. It was discount at a Saturday Market sale which made me think it was a steal. Upon getting it home, I noticed some of the leaves were a bit dark and have in the last 8 days, have gotten worse and spread. I am wondering if it has a disease or is naturally turning due to autumn being upon us. If someone could also hel;p identify the gender of the plant, I would also appreciate it. I am looking at repotting sometime and would like to get the appropriate male or female style pot. Attached are two pics. Thanks in advance for your help!

- Ryan

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

New member with new bonsai 7 years 6 months ago #25898

• Auk
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1791

If someone could also hel;p identify the gender of the plant, I would also appreciate it. I am looking at repotting sometime and would like to get the appropriate male or female style pot.

Welcome to the forum.
I'm wondering, am I understanding correctly that you are asking whether the plant is male or female, so you can buy the right pot?

New member with new bonsai 7 years 6 months ago #25935

• OfficialRyGuy
  • OfficialRyGuy's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 0
That, and if that darkening in the leaves is autumn happening or a disease that needs treating.

I am to understand I would want a round pot for females and a more squared pot for male trees.

New member with new bonsai 7 years 6 months ago #25937

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3653