Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Bonsai In Saudi Arabia 6 years 2 months ago #37660

• tambasel
  • tambasel's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 6
This is my first post on Bonsai Empire and so glad that i found this community of Bonsai lovers and pro's that i can learn from and progress. Im Tam, moved from Canada to Saudi Arabia 10 years ago for work. Im new to Bonsai and been reading and watching tutorials for a while now. i have attempted to work on a nursery stock Blue Juniper (I beleive it was called) when i was on a trip in Jordan 6 months ago visiting my mother. Junipers grow like weeds there. ill post before and after pics and videos of this later for some critic and ideas on improvement :)

I just purchased a Thuja from a local nursery here in Saudi Arabia and did some small work on it. Im not sure what type of Thuja it is, if anyone can give me the exact type that would be great. I would also love to hear what you guys think about the work ive done and what i could do to make it look better for the future as im planning on letting it grow during this grow season now and see what happens from now till next year.

Weather is crazy here, the growing season starts in FEB and summer hits in May where temperatures reach 60 degrees Celcius in June/July. Im hoping if i keep the tree in the shade it will survive this extreme weather.

Anyway i leave you guys with the pics and If anyone knows what types of plants do well in this region I would love to know so i can start working on something that can survive this countys weather.

Thanks Thuja

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Bonsai In Saudi Arabia 6 years 2 months ago #37665

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654
Hi welcome.
I have been to Riyadh a few times and know the climate. Not sure what you would grow there!!

Bonsai In Saudi Arabia 6 years 1 month ago #38017