• Page:

TOPIC:

Ficus benjamina - 3yr old raft 4 years 10 months ago #50090

• Bunsen33
  • Bunsen33's Avatar Topic Author
  • Premium Member
  • Premium Member
  • Thanks received: 43
This is the Ficus benjamina I have been working on for 3-4 years. It's definitely a chop and grow project. It's in week 2 of it's transition to outdoor living for the summer.

This started out as a raft cutting about 1 inch long and about a half inch wide. When taken as a cutting, the larger trunk was a new and small branch with 3 leaves, the mid-sized trunk was 1 leaf and the smallest/cascadey trunk stuff did not exist.

I made the pot myself, not for this project but when the growth I am trying to train to cascade started to develop it felt like a good choice. The main trunk is about as tall as I would like it to be and I am starting to work on rammification. Unfortunately, the main trunk is a super resource hog because they are all still connected by the original raft. Resource balancing amongst the trunks and developing branch structure on the largest trunk - priorities?
I need work on incorporating more movement in the smaller upright trunk (I took the first wires off to take these pictures). It's tough to do this, and choose a front, without crossing the largest trunk due to how close they are.

Otherwise, it's probably my favorite tree. The fact that I look at it all winter (compared to those that overwinter outdoors) and it is a hearty grower doesn't hurt.

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Ficus benjamina - 3yr old raft 4 years 10 months ago #50118

• Clicio
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1549
Hi Bunsen, Good to be your most viewed tree, and congrats for the pot.
I think it needs still more thickening of the trunk(s), and even if you say that it is as tall as you want it to be, I still feel it is too high.