• Page:

TOPIC:

How many trees have you killed? 4 years 6 months ago #53102

• Tropfrog
  • Tropfrog's Avatar Topic Author
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 1352
This is a really interesting topic to me. When getting into bonsai most if not all have made the misstake to be in a rush for results, pushing the limits a little to far. Or simply didnt have time for a short period of time for the correct care.

Myself, I am a beginner since 3 years and I have killed 2 trees. One pine that i digged up close to my summer house in the middle of the summer and left without soil in my hot car. Two days later I Potted it and made both pruning and wiering. The tree was one of tree young pines that was to be removed anyway. One was treated Exactly the same way and survived the same treatment and are now fairly good niwaki material. The third one is slightly bigger and was cut at place for later collection.

I have also killed a juniper from nurcery stock by repotting and pruning direct after purshase

I Believe that it is a part of learning to push boudaries and eventually kill a tree.

How many years have you been in the hobby and how many trees have you killed? Do you Believe that killing trees is a part of the learning process and The hobby.

Br
Magnus

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

How many trees have you killed? 4 years 6 months ago #53106

• leatherback
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 3654
I think some 20, maybe 25 trees died under my care. Most of pushing too hard, being impatient. But also by being away on business trips and having someone else taking care of my plants.

I do not think killing trees is part of doing bonsai. It is however part of learning bonsai. For most people working with trees, trimming roots and keeping plants alive in relatively small pots is a dificult skill to aquire.

How many trees have you killed? 4 years 6 months ago #53108

• Clicio
  • Platinum Member