Bonsai forum

• Page:

TOPIC:

Italian Stone Pine and Eastern Redbud 2 years 5 months ago #73155

• Sergipot
  • Sergipot's Avatar Topic Author
  • Thanks received: 1
Hi guys,

I bought a bonsai pack 1 year and 5 months ago, and from the five different types I was only able to grow 2:
- Redbud China
- Pine Southern Europe

Both of them are looking really nice, but I read today that some experts gave up on the pine because the needles for some reason turn very long after a few years in a pot, so is it worth it to keep it growing? Or should I give up and start with a different one?

The redbud looks like it's going quite well, just waiting for it to get bigger and thicker, but it's only 1.5 years old, so still need to wait.

I'll attach a picture of each of them.
Do you have any advice for them?

I'm really new in the bonsai world and I quite like it, but stresses me out sometimes as you have to wait very long times to see some changes.

Thanks for your responses! :)

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Italian Stone Pine and Eastern Redbud 2 years 5 months ago #73161

• Albas
  • Platinum Member
  • Platinum Member
  • Thanks received: 283
Hello!

Both seems promissing... I wouldn't give up on the pine, but I would have it outdoors, and on a big pot, so it can grow...

Bonsai is a slow paced art, slower if done on small pots since the beggining, and even slower if not outside.

I have a 14 years old Ficus outside that I made from seedling, and don't even consider a Bonsai yet...
Some good artists can make Bonsai in 3-5 years, but with a very different approach and skills...
The following user(s) said Thank You: Sergipot

Italian Stone Pine and Eastern Redbud 2 years 5 months ago #73166

• Sergipot
Hi Albas,

Thank you for your reply!